Milam Glacier (3438m and upward)

Posted By: Jyotsna Chauhan In: Places of Interest On: Wednesday, March 2, 2016 Comment: 0 Hit: 1349

Milam Glacier is 27 km long & the biggest glacier in Kumaon Himalayas. Milam village which lies near the glacier one of the highest villages in the Himalayan range located on the old trade route to Tibet. 

Munsiyari the base for this trek in Pirthoragarh district of Kumaon can be reached in one full day from Delhi either via Kathgodam or Tanakpur. Munsiyari is also the base for Ralam, Namik, Poting, and Lilam Glaciers. Munsiyari is on the arterial water body of the Gori-Ganga which emerges from the Milam glacier system of the eastern flanks of the Nanda Devi Sanctuary, fed also by the Kalabuland glacier and the Panchachuli from further east. The Milam Glacier snout at 3872m is not the only objective of the trek route indicated but also the nodal point for a variety of high grade routes and peaks.

From Munsiyari the trek to Lilam is mostly downhill along the Gori-Ganga River. Enroute, Bugdiyar to Rikot is a thick forest area from where the land opens into the gori-Ganga valley. After crossing the Gori Ganga River and below Burfu village, one gets an uninterrupted view of Nanda Devi and Hardeol peaks right up to Milam glacier. The Milam Glacier summit at 3872m is the nodal point for a different high grade routes. The main peaks are Hardeol (7151m), Burphudhura (6215m), and Kalabulanddhura (6215m).

Trekking Route & Details
  • Duration: 11 Days
  • Group : Minimum 6 persons
  • Season : April, May, June, Sept, Oct
  • Type : Hard Trek

Itinerary (Ex. Delhi)

  • 1st Day : Delhi ? Munsiyari (night halt)
  • 2nd Day : Munsiyari-Darkot-Lilam (1850m) (night halt) 16 km trek
  • 3rd Day : Lilam-Bogdwar (Bugudiar 2412m) (night halt) 15 km trek
  • 4th Day : Bugudiar - Rilkot (3130m) (night halt) 10 km trek
  • 5th Day : Rilkot - Milam Village (3423m) (night halt) 14 km trek
  • 6th Day : Village - Milam Glacier - Rilkot (night halt) 18 km trek
  • 7th Day : Rilkot - Bugudiar (night halt) 10 km trek
  • 8th Day : Bugudiar - Lilam (night halt) 15 km trek
  • 9th Day : Lilam - Munsiyari (night halt) 16 km trek
  • 10th Day: Munsiyari - Kathgodam (night departure to Delhi)
  • 11th Day: Arrival at Delhi


Leave your comment